Ayrshire Region

12 Municipalities mostly in historic Ayrshire and Buteshire, today's East, North and South Ayrshire Councils

Clyde Region

17 Municipalities mostly in historic Dunbartonshire and Renfrewshire, today's East and West Dunbartonshire, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire and Inverclyde Councils

Dumfries and Galloway Region

5 Municipalities in historic Dumfriesshire and Galloway, today's Dumfries and Galloway Council


A Unitary Authority for the Capital, as with today

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar

A Unitary Authority for Na h-Eileanan an Iar (the Western Isles), as with today

Fife Region

10 Municipalities in the Kingdom of Fife, today's Fife Council

Forth Region

10 Municipalities mostly in historic Clackmannanshire and Stirling, today's Clackmannanshire, Falkirk and Stirling Councils

Glasgow City

A Unitary Authority for Scotland's largest city, as with today

Grampian Region

14 Municipalities mostly in historic Aberdeenshire, Banffshire, Kincardineshire and Moray, today's Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire and Moray Councils

Highland Region

14 Municipalities mostly in historic Argyll, Buteshire, Caithness, Sutherland, Nairn, Inverness-shire and Cromarty & Ross, today's Highland and Argyll & Bute Councils


15 Municipalities mostly in historic Lanarkshire, today's North and South Lanarkshire Councils

Lothian and Borders Region

15 Municipalities mostly in the historic Lothians and Borders counties, today's East, Mid and West Lothian and Scottish Borders Councils

Orkney Islands

A Unitary Authority for Orkney, as with today

Shetland Islands

A Unitary Authority for Shetland, as with today

Tayside Region

11 Municipalities in historic Angus, Perthshire and Kinross-shire, today's Angus, Dundee and Perth & Kinross Councils