New Municipalism has been a lengthy endeavour, starting with an initial draft in 2015, election projections in 2017, an improved version in 2019, and finally the 2020 product that’s on this site. It’s been time consuming, but I’ve learned a lot, and there are some things I’d definitely do differently to what’s proposed here.

Especially given the complexity of translating 2017 election results, although I have a range of changes in mind I’m not implementing them until I do a(n intended) refresher of the project in 2022. This page has both a list of my proposed changes (which may be added to as further ideas occur to me) and a form to submit your own suggestions, if you have any ideas.

My Proposed Changes

Ayrshire Region

Redraw “Carrick” and “Cumnock and the Doon Valley” Districts. Carrick currently includes the area around Coylton, which is somewhat disconnected from the rest of the District and not historically in Carrick. Proposed that the Doon Valley and Coylton are swapped, giving new “Carrick and the Doon Valley” and “Kyle Central” Districts

Clyde Region

Redraw “Campsie District” and “Bishopbriggs Burgh” by transferring Torrance and Balmore area from Bishopbriggs into Campsie. This would unify all the portions of the historic Stirling county that were moved out of Stirling and Falkirk in the 1973 Act into one District.

Considering separating Gourock, Inverkip, Wemyss Bay and Skelmorlie from “Greenock District” into a new “Gourock and Firth Coast District”, leaving a smaller “Greenock Burgh”

Fife Region

Redraw “Cowdenbeath and Central Fife” and “Forth Coast” Districts by transferring Auchertool from latter to former. Currently, Auchertool is the furthest inland village in Forth Coast so may not fit well.

Grampian Region

Major changes proposed for this region.

Most minor change to redraw boundaries between “Aberdeen City” and “Westhill and East Garioch” by taking recently completed Aberdeen Western Peripheral Route as new western boundary of City. Possibly break from road boundary to keep Peterculter in Aberdeen.

Redraw boundaries between “Marr” and “Kincardine and Mearns” Districts to re-establish historic boundaries of Kincardineshire. Take Banchory and surroundings out of Marr and combine with area of Kincardine north of Stonehaven, including Portlethen, to create a “Banchory and North Kincardine” District. “Stonehaven and South Kincardine” would cover remaining area of Kincardineshire.

Redraw boundaries of Moray, Banffshire and Buchan substantially, mostly restoring historic boundaries of Moray and Banffshire.

New “Lossiemouth and Moray East District” taking Lossiemouth from “Forres and Moray West District” and combining it with Moray portion of “Speyside Central District”. Consider moving now consolidated Moray into Highland Region

Remainder of Speyside Central loses Portgordon to “Banffshire North District” but gains Aberchirder to become “Banffshire South District” covering most of inland Banffshire. Banffshire North further expanded by inclusion of Macduff and Gardenstown areas from “Fraserburgh and Macduff District” to effectively re-instate Banffshire boundaries, and combine coastal Banffshire into one District.

“Buchan District” split such that St Fergus and areas south of Peterhead merge with “Peterhead Burgh” to form new “Peterhead and Buchan South” District. Remainder of Buchan combined with remainder of Fraserburgh and Macduff to form “Fraserburgh and Buchan North”. This resolves the awkwardness of original Buchan proposal, which had no clear administrative centre.

Highland Region

Possible addition of Moray, if it is moved out of Grampian.

Lanarkshire Region

Redraw boundaries between “Carluke” and “Clydesdale” Districts. Trade Kirkmuirhill area from Carluke for Forth area from Clydesdale. Should better represent connections via local road network.

Redraw boundaries between “Shotts and Central Lanarkshire District” and “Motherwell and Wishaw Burgh”. Take A78 as western boundary of new “Shotts District”, except for Bellside (not in Shotts District) and Newmains (whole village included in Shotts District). Remaining portion of Shotts and Central Lanarkshire to north of Morthwell and Wishaw renamed “Holytown District”, including also New Stevenston, Newarthill and Cleland areas. Hopefully resolves quite awkward shape of original proposal.

Lothian and Borders Region

Redraw boundaries between the Borders Districts to more closely align with 1973 Act Districts. Clovenfords area transferred from “Tweeddale District” and St Boswells area from “Roxburgh District” both into “Ettrick and Lauderdale District”. This restores the historic borders of Tweeddale and is more consistent for Ettrick and Lauderdale.

Redraw boundaries between “Bathgate Burgh” and “Amadale, Whitburn and the Breich Valley District”. Blackburn and Seafield separated from Bathgate and using River Almond as a boundary create new “Armadale and Blackburn District”. South of the Almond becomes “Whitburn and the Breich Valley District”. Still leaves this area quite awkward, but hopefully less so.

Your Suggested Changes

2022 Review Suggestion